support@edupristine.com1800 200 5835Request a Call
Call Me

FRM Eligibility

The FRM (Financial Risk Manager) designation is an international professional certification offered by GARP (Global Association of Risk Professionals). In order to get the FRM designation, first the candidates must pass the rigorous examination offered in two parts. The examination covers the major topics in financial risk management. Once they have cleared the examination, they need to have a relevant work experience of 2 years at the least.

As such, there are no minimum eligibility requirements to write the exam. You can write the FRM Part-1 exam even if you are in the final year of your graduation and you can take the FRM Part-2 only when you complete the FRM Part-1 exam. But once you have taken and passed the exams. You need to have work experience to get the certification.

The certification requirements ensure that the Quality of a FRM stays as the gold standard, by awarding the certification only to qualified individuals with relevant work experience.

FRM Exam eligibility vs FRM Certification eligibility:

The question then, that comes to the mind is, what does the difference mean? If you are eligible to take the exam as an undergraduate, whence did the experience come into picture?

If you have finished the FRM exams as an undergraduate, once you graduate you can use passing the exams as a strong sign of your commitment towards the field and of the extensive knowledge you have gained. Since FRM is a self study, this means a lot more in the industry.

This is why GARP gives a FRM candidate a 5 year window since passing the FRM exam to get experience verified for the designation. Once this time lapses, you will need to write the FRM Exam (both parts) again, in order to


Global Association of Risk Professionals, Inc. (GARP®) does not endorse, promote, review or warrant the accuracy of the products or services offered by EduPristine for FRM® related information, nor does it endorse any pass rates claimed by the provider. Further, GARP® is not responsible for any fees or costs paid by the user to EduPristine nor is GARP® responsible for any fees or costs of any person or entity providing any services to EduPristine Study Program. FRM®, GARP® and Global Association of Risk Professionals®, are trademarks owned by the Global Association of Risk Professionals, Inc

CFA Institute does not endorse, promote, or warrant the accuracy or quality of the products or services offered by EduPristine. CFA Institute, CFA®, Claritas® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are trademarks owned by CFA Institute.

Utmost care has been taken to ensure that there is no copyright violation or infringement in any of our content. Still, in case you feel that there is any copyright violation of any kind please send a mail to and we will rectify it.

Popular Blogs: Whatsapp Revenue Model | CFA vs CPA | CMA vs CPA | ACCA vs CPA | CFA vs FRM

DM_marketing.php Post ID = 64188