Share with your network!

(C) CFA Program:
CFAI offers reduced costs for college or university students enrolling in the CFA Program having a sponsor Professor.

Who is eligible to sponsor students?
A sponsoring professor must be a CFA Program charterholder in good standing and a full-time faculty member at the student’s university and must teach at least six credit hours per quarter or semester. Administrators must teach a minimum of three hours. The university must offer a U.S. bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) or higher. Professors on leave or sabbatical from their primary university six months before the exam are not eligible. Professors may establish their own criteria for selecting student scholars. Suggestions for criteria include financial need, scholastic grades, or essays.

Who is eligible to apply for the scholarship?

Student scholarships are only available to new Level I candidates enrolling and registering for the first time. Applicants must be full-time college or university students in their final undergraduate year, scheduled to receive a U.S. bachelor’s degree or comparable non-U.S. degree, or full- or part-time graduate students. Applicants must attend the same university where the sponsoring professor teaches. Applicants must fulfill all CFA Program candidate requirements to enroll and must confirm receipt of their degree in writing to progress to the next exam.

How many scholarships can a professor award?

A professor may award a maximum of five student scholarships per fiscal year. Universities with more than one qualified professor on staff may award a maximum of 10 scholarships per fiscal year. Each fiscal year incorporates the December exam and the June exam of the following year.

What does the scholarship cover?

For the current exam offering, the CFA Program enrollment fee (if applicable) is waived and the exam registration fee is discounted. Student scholars pay only the cost of curriculum (2010 exam curriculum is US$225) plus any applicable taxes and import duties. The fee is non-refundable and non-transferable. Scholarships cannot be deferred to another exam offering.