support@edupristine.com1800 200 5835Request a Call
Call Me


Since its introduction in 1963, the Chartered Financial Analyst® designation, or CFA charter has become the most recognized and respected investment credential in the world. Earning the CFA charter demonstrates mastery of the skills most needed for investment analysis and decision making in today’s fast-evolving global financial industry

The first step to earning the CFA charter is clearing the CFA Program viz. CFA Exams. Once you have cleared the three levels of the CFA Exams you need to have 4 years of qualified work experience, become a CFA Institute member and local member of CFA society.

The CFA Program is a globally recognized, graduate level curriculum that provides you with a strong foundation of the real-world investment analysis and portfolio management skills and practical knowledge you need in today’s investment industry. It also emphasizes the highest ethical and professional standards.

CFA charter eligibility:

As said before the first step to earning the charter would be to clear the program, which is achieved by clearing all the levels of the CFA Exam.

To begin the journey towards the CFA charter, you must be in the final year of your college education. This will make you eligible for CFA Level 1. Clearing Level 1 makes you eligible for Level 2 of CFA Exam and clearing level 2 will make you eligible for CFA Level 3.

Once you clear Level 3 you need to have the work experience as prescribed by the CFA Institute. Check CFA Charter Eligibility for more details.

CFA Exam Syllabus:

CFA charter while popular with investment bankers covers all the financial instruments comprehensively. Each level of the CFA Exam deals with a definite set of concepts that test and strain the skills and knowledge of the candidate in the exam and the complexity progresses with each level of the exam.

  • CFA Level 1 sylabus:

    • Focuses on a basic knowledge of the ten topic areas and simple analysis using investment tools.

  • CFA Level 2 syllabus:

    • Emphasizes application of investment tools and concepts with a focus on valuation of all types of assets

  • CFA Level 3 Syllabus:

    • Focuses on synthesizing all of the concepts and analytical methods in a variety of applications for effective portfolio management and wealth planning.

CFA Exam Format:

The CFA exam is conducted, as said earlier in levels which are to be written sequentially. The exams are paper based exams which are conducted across the globe in CFA authorized testing centers. The duration of each exam is 6 hours. The format of each exam varies by level.

  • CFA Level 1 Exam Format:

    • CFA Level 1 comprises of only multiple choice questions (MCQ) focusing on investment tools. Some questions might require analysis.

  • CFA Level 2 Exam Format:

    • CFA Level 2 exam consists of MCQs and item sets that emphasize on complex analysis and valuing assets.

  • CFA Level 3 Exam Format:

    • CFA Level 3 exam consists of item sets and Essays that focus on synthesizing all of the concepts and analytical methods in a variety of applications for effective portfolio management and wealth planning.

CFA Scholarships:

CFA charter is an expensive business. To provide the financial aid to those who need it and to encourage good talent to choose CFA charter, the CFA Institute offers Scholarships that provide either complete or partial financial aid to the selected candidates.

CFA Exam Registration:

If you are planning to write the CFA exam and you are eligible to do so, you need to register with the CFA institute every time you want to write an exam, by paying the appropriate fees. The registration is fairly simple and can be done online on the CFA Institute’s website.


Global Association of Risk Professionals, Inc. (GARP®) does not endorse, promote, review or warrant the accuracy of the products or services offered by EduPristine for FRM® related information, nor does it endorse any pass rates claimed by the provider. Further, GARP® is not responsible for any fees or costs paid by the user to EduPristine nor is GARP® responsible for any fees or costs of any person or entity providing any services to EduPristine Study Program. FRM®, GARP® and Global Association of Risk Professionals®, are trademarks owned by the Global Association of Risk Professionals, Inc

CFA Institute does not endorse, promote, or warrant the accuracy or quality of the products or services offered by EduPristine. CFA Institute, CFA®, Claritas® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are trademarks owned by CFA Institute.

Utmost care has been taken to ensure that there is no copyright violation or infringement in any of our content. Still, in case you feel that there is any copyright violation of any kind please send a mail to and we will rectify it.

Popular Blogs: Whatsapp Revenue Model | CFA vs CPA | CMA vs CPA | ACCA vs CPA | CFA vs FRM

DM_marketing.php Post ID = 64014